The ancient city Khersones is part of the National Preserve of Tauric Chersonesos and in 2013 was listed as a World Heritage Site.

Crimea itself comprises three regions. The first of these is made up of a level plain that slopes down gently from south to north. The second region, the Kerch Peninsula, thrusts eastward toward of Krasnodar and consists of low hills. The third region is made up of the alpine fold mountains of the south and the whole coast line is dominated by the mountains that tower above them, sometimes reaching up to 1500 m. The mountain area that stretches from the coast to about 70 km inland contains some very pristine untouched nature.

Crimea is a Peninsula in the Black sea and the homonymous Republic within the Russian Federation. The capital of the Republic – the city of Simferopol. Crimea is in the South-West the country is washed by Black and Azov seas.
Crimea has a long history, mostly separate from neighboring regions. In antiquity many Greek colonies existed along its coast, later it belonged to independent local states or foreign powers like Roman & Byzantine Empire, or Genoa. In medieval times the region was conquered by Tatars who became later vassals of Ottoman Empire. The Crimean Khanate survived until 1774, when it was conquered by Russia for the first time in its history. The Crimean Oblast was transferred from Russia to Ukraine in Feb 1954 while both countries were constituent parts of the former Soviet Union. March 2014 it gets back as the part of the Russian Federation.
Average temperature
Road transport
Located about 504 km of Moscow.
Air transport
Moscow – Krimea – 2h40m